All-round Warwickshire trounce Somerset to win County Championship 2021-22

Mayank Kumar

Mayank Kumar

Author| Sep 24, 5:12 PM

Image: Twitter
Image: Twitter

A collective effort from the bowlers led by Chris Woakes and Craig Miles has made Warwickshire the new champions of County Championship 2021-22. They topped Division one and thereby booked the bragging rights. 

Somerset required 273 runs on the final day of their last league game in Division 1, while Warwickshire needed all the 10 wickets to lift the championship title. In the end, it was the team from Birmingham who got the better of their opponent and won the game by 118 runs to lift the trophy for the first time since 2012.

Woakes was the pick of the bowlers with six wickets across two innings of the game while it was Danny Briggs’ all-around performances in both innings that kept the Warcs in the game.  To put them further in control, Tom Yate’s century in the second innings set the game up beautifully on the final day.

Winning the toss and eclectic to bowl first, Somerset were thwarted by an impressive Warcs batting line-up with the likes of Dom Sibley, Will Rhodes and Saim scoring half-centuries. 

Warwickshire posted a decent first innings total of 367 runs but Somerset were not out of woods in the first innings itself as their batsmen led an impressive riposte and posted 389 runs on the board.

Having conceded a lead of 22 runs, Warwickshire needed batsmen to put their hands up one more time and aggressive innings from Yates along with another set of fifties from Sibley and Rhodes provided Warcs with a perfect platform to press on for a win on the final day.

On the final day, Somerset openers Ben Green and Tom Lammonboy tried their best to provide solidity to their batting effort but once Lammonboy was snaffled up by Briggs, the floodgates opened for Warcs and the men in marron slipped to 35/3 in no time from 31/0 with the loss of both the openers and Azhar Ali.

The championship triumph marks a remarkable turnaround for Warwickshire who failed to win even a single game in the last season. They had finished seventh in the championship in the 2019 edition and their last triumph had come way back in 2012.

  • Dominic Sibley
  • Danny Briggs
  • Chris Woakes
  • County 2021

Share News On

Read Next

More News