ICC awards full-member status to US, Scotland, PNG, Namibia, Netherlands women's ODI teams

Yash Mittal

Yash Mittal

Author| May 25, 4:38 PM

PC: Twitter/ICC
PC: Twitter/ICC

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has awarded the full-member status in the ODI format to Papua New Guinea, Thailand, the United States of America, the Netherlands and Scotland's women's teams.

The development comes in the immediate aftermath of the governing body announcing a revamped pathway to the Women's World Cup qualification process.

In a bid to lend more context and competitiveness to the Women's championship, the ICC has made it a 10-team event by adding Bangladesh and Ireland to the championship. 

Speaking on the development, ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said, "Increasing the number of teams in the ICC Women's Championship and awarding ODI status to five additional teams will help us to accelerate the growth of the women's game. More teams playing more regularly creates a more competitive environment as we saw at the recent ICC Women's Cricket World Cup in New Zealand." 

"The context that the IWC brings is so important and ensures fans around the world can enjoy meaningful and competitive cricket throughout the year. I wish all the teams in the ICC Women's Championship the very best in this next edition and good luck to Netherlands, PNG, Scotland, Thailand and the USA on what I hope will be a great opportunity to develop in 50 over cricket in their countries," added Allardice.

The ODI championship will see each side play 8 three-match 50-over series -- four home and four away -- as per the mutual agreement between the member boards.

India will host New Zealand, West Indies, Ireland and South Africa while they will travel to Australia, England, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

The hosts plus five top-sides as per the points table will qualify for the 2025 World Cup, while the remaining spots will be filled via a six-team Qualifying event.

As far as the new ODI teams are concerned, their performance and ODI rankings will count towards qualification for the 2025 event.

  • NEDW
  • PNGW
  • THAW
  • USW
  • SCOW

Share News On

Read Next

More News