ICC to induct 10 more greats into Hall of Fame on eve of WTC final between India, New Zealand

Mayank Kumar

Mayank Kumar

Author| Jun 10, 10:09 AM

Image: Twitter
Image: Twitter

The International Cricket Council has announced that it will induct 10 legends of the game from the previous eras into the ICC Hall of Fame on the eve of the inaugural World Test Championship final. 

The latest addition of two players from each of the five eras—Early Cricket Era (pre-1918), Inter-War Cricket Era (1918-1945), Post-War Cricket Era (1946-1970), ODI Era (1971-1995), Modern Cricket Era (1996-2016) will take the overall tally past the 100 (currently at 93). 

ICC CEO Geoff Allardice said that the global governing body of the game has decided to induct legends in the list to celebrate the ‘history of the game’ which could not have been done in any better way than honouring the players who have left their legacy in the game and will continue to inspire future generations.

“It is an honour for us to announce a one-time induction of ten cricketing greats into the ICC Hall of Fame to coincide with the first-ever final of the World Test Championship in Southampton. We are celebrating the history of the game and what better way than to honour some of the greats that founded and played the game across different eras. These are all players with a legacy that will continue to inspire future generations for years to come,” ICC acting chief executive Geoff Allardice said in a release.

  • WTC Final 2021
  • WTC

Share News On

Read Next

More News