AUSW vs INDW | 3rd ODI: India hold nerves to clinch consolation win in another nail-biter

Somya Kapoor

Somya Kapoor

Author| Sep 26, 8:25 AM

Photo Credits: Twitter/BCCI
Photo Credits: Twitter/BCCI

The Indian women’s team finally etched a win in the three-match ODI series after clinching a victory in the third and final clash in Mackay. India were off to a steady start after Smriti Mandhana and Shafali Verma stitched a 59-run stand for the first wicket. Mandhana departed for 22 off 25 and Verma was joined by Yastika Bhatia at the crease. 

The two batters took the onus on themselves and put up a partnership of 101 runs for the second wicket. Verma was eventually out for 56 after she was cleaned up by Sophie Molineux while Yastika too notched up a half-century. 

The visitors then lost some wickets at regular intervals and were reduced to 208/6 when Deepti Sharma and Sneh Rana joined hands to steady the ship and score 33 runs for the seventh wicket. India looked comfortable in the chase at one stage but Sharma and Sneh Rana’s dismissals pushed them on back foot. 

The equation was finally down to 4 required off the last 6 balls with Jhulan Goswami and Meghna Singh at the crease. Singh got a single on the second ball of the over while Goswami struck a boundary on the third to wrap up the win for India in another nail-biting finish. With this win, India also broke Australia’s 26-match winning streak. 

Earlier, Australia managed to score 264/9 in 50 overs, courtesy half-centuries from Mooney and Gardner and a 32-ball 47. Goswami and Pooja Vastrakar picked up three wickets apiece for India. 

Australia captain Meg manning lauded India for the way they played this particular contest. “It was a great contest. We had our chances, we couldn't take them. India came out really well with the ball and kept fighting with the bat, so they deserved this win,” she said in the post-match presentation. 

India skipper Mithali Raj expressed delight on India’ win. “We are happy that we have won the last game, just told the girls that the winning streak of Australia started in 2018, against India in India and we needed to be the one who broke that streak. we need to put up a A-grade performance, so happy with the victory,” she said. 

Australia had earlier won the first two ODIs to take an unassailable lead.  

  • Mithali Raj
  • Sneh Rana
  • Jhulan Goswami
  • Smriti Mandhana
  • Shafali Verma
  • INDW vs AUSW

Share News On

Read Next

More News