Pakistan’s Babar Azam to lead ICC Men’s ODI team of the year, no Indian included

Abhishek Singh

Abhishek Singh

Author| Jan 20, 4:02 PM

PC- Twitter
PC- Twitter

The International Cricket Council announced its ODI teams of the year 2021 for both men and women. While there was very little ODI cricket among the men this year, the women did play a fair bit as and when possible in yet another Covid marred season.

While Babar Azam has been named the captain of the men’s team, the women’s team would be led by England skipper Heather Knight. In the men’s team, there is a representation only from five countries, Pakistan, Ireland, South Africa, Sri Lank and Bangladesh. In the women’s team though, all major teams have been able to find at least one representative. 

The Men’s team has two Pakistani players in skipper Babar and Fkahar Zaman, who earlier used to open the innings, but is now playing as number three. There are three players from Bangladesh on the side in form of all-time great Shakib Al Hasan and Mushiqur Rahim as the wicketkeeper while Mustafizur Rahman qualified as a fast bowler. 

South Africa’s Janneman Malan has been chosen as an opening partner to Ireland’s Paul Stirling with another Protea Rassie van der Dussen coming in at number five after the two Pakistanis. Wanindu Hasaranga from Sri Lanka is the second all-rounder as well as spin bowling option after Shakib. 

The team has a third spinner in the form of Irish Simi Singh. It is strange that the team has only two fast bowlers and three spinners because the other pacer apart from Fizz is Sri Lanka’s Dushmantha Chameera. 

ICC Men's ODI Team of the Year 2021

Paul Stirling (Ireland), Janneman Malan (South Africa), Babar Azam (c) (Pakistan), Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan), Rassie van der Dussen (South Africa), Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk) (Bangladesh), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Simi Singh (Ireland), Dushmantha Chameera (Sri Lanka)

In the women’s team, India is being represented by its veterans Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami while England is being represented by Tammy Beaumont apart from Knight being the captain of the side. Lizelle Lee of South Africa and Alyssa Healey of Australia are the chosen openers with Beaumont at three, Mithali at four and Knight at number five. 

Among the all-rounders are West Indian Hayley Matthews and South Africa’s Marizanne Kapp. The four pure bowlers in the team are from Pakistan, India, the West Indies and South Africa in form of Fatima Sana, Goswami, Anisa Mohammed and Shabnim Ismail respectively. 

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year 2021

Lizelle Lee (South Africa), Alyssa Healy (wk) (Australia), Tammy Beaumont (England), Mithali Raj (India), Heather Knight (c) (England), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Fatima Sana (Pakistan), Jhulan Goswami (India), Shabnim Ismail (South Africa), Anisa Mohammed (West Indies)

  • Babar Azam
  • Mithali Raj
  • Jhulan Goswami
  • Heather Knight
  • Shakib Al Hasan
  • Paul Stirling

Share News On

Read Next

More News