CPL 2021: Faf du Plessis takes over St. Lucia Zouks’ captaincy from Daren Sammy

Abhishek Singh

Abhishek Singh

Author| May 30, 7:39 AM

PC- Twitter
PC- Twitter

Former South Africa skipper Faf du Plessis has been appointed as the new skipper of St. Lucia Zouks after Daren Sammy decided to hang up his boots for the franchise. The runners’ up from the last season, their best result in the franchise history, Zouks would be led by someone other than Sammy for the first time in the history of the franchise. 

“I am excited to announce that Faf du Plessis would be taking over the captaincy of the St. Lucia Zouks franchise,” Sammy said in a video upload by the franchise on its official Twitter handle. 

“Having led the franchise since its inception, I want to thank them. I also want to wish Faf, who is known to be a great leader, a great man-manager and a great human being all the best,” added Sammy who led the team in a record 74 games, scoring 898 runs and picking 24 wickets at the same time. 

Praising the Proteas international who would be the only in his second stint in the Caribbean Premier League, having previously turned up for St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, Sammy said, “This is the kind of personnel I think we need to have to take the Zouks franchise forward on the quest to win the title.” Transferring the symbolic cap off his head and offering it to du Plessis, the 37-year-old added, “Good luck and over to you sir, enjoy captaining Zouks as much as I did.”

One of the most successful captains to have led South Africa with 18 wins in 36 Tests, du Plessis is excited for the new role as well. “I am super excited to be joining up with the CPL this year, I will be joining the St. Lucia Zouks team as a skipper. I am an outsider but I expect local legend Daren Sammy to show me the ropes,” said the 36-year-old who has experience of playing 246 T20s in his career.

St Lucia Zouks squad: 

Faf du Plessis, Keemo Paul, Wahab Riaz, Matthew Wade, Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Usman Qadir, Samit Patel, Obed McCoy, Rahkeem Cornwall, Mark Deyal, Roston Chase, Javelle Glen, Keron Cottoy, Jeavor Royal, Kadeem Alleyne, Alzarri Joseph.

  • Faf du Plessis
  • Daren Sammy
  • SLK
  • RSA
  • CPL 2021

Share News On

Read Next

More News