Tejas Rathi ∙ Aug 13 2022, 7:45 PM

Legends League Cricket 2022: Shane Watson, Daniel Vettori named as replacements

image-l6s805s9Daniel Vettori to feature in LLC 2

Shane Watson and Daniel Vettori have replaced Herschelle Gibbs and Sanath Jayasuriya in the World Giants squad for the special game against India Maharajas in the 2022 edition of the Legends League Cricket (LLC). 

Although the tournament is set to kick off on September 17, this game will take place one day earlier to celebrate 75 years of India’s Independence at Eden Gardens Kolkata. 

As reported earlier, Sourav Ganguly will lead the Maharajas, while Eoin Morgan will be the leader of the Giants. 

Ganguly was last witnessed playing for Sachin's Blasters in the Cricket All-Stars Series in 2015 at USA. 

The organizers received a backlash for including Gibbs in the line-up, due to his involvement with Kashmir Premier League. The criticizm has reportedly forced LLC to drop the former Protea batter's name from the tournament. 

“Legends League Cricket has decided to replace Herschelle Gibbs and Sanath Jayasuriya in the World Giant squad for the special match,” stated an official release.

What Transpired in LLC Season 1

The first edition of the LLC was played in January this year at Oman, which witnessed the participation of three teams, Maharajas, Giants and Asia Lions. 

image-l6s7xp5nWorld Giants in LLC 1

Kevin Pietersen-led Giants secured a 25-run victory over the Lions in the Finals to secure a title victory. Naman Ojha was the top-scorer with 259 runs, while Nuwan Kulasekara emerged as the leading wicket-taker with eight scalps in the tournament. 

If the reports are to be believed, LLC 2 is expected to see four teams squaring up against each other. 

The second season is likely to be played in six cities, and the schedule will be announced in due course of time. 

READ MORE: Sikandar Raza picks Virat Kohli over Babar Azam, names MS Dhoni as his favourite captain